PDA

Orijinalini görmek için tıklayınız : Joining The Army In 2310

admin
04 Ekim 2023, 14:03
--for lcwarctic

Many years later, as I moved to the retirement planet, I remembered the day they ruled that men could no longer have cunts. I smiled. I knew where that came from. In November 2310 I turned 18, went out and got drunk, got laid, and put a down-payment on a 2956 Chevaaz MX-90. Then I looked around for what else I could do!

Hey, when you're fucking up, do it right, right? I walked through the door of the Planetary Army recruiter, and Zip, Zang, Zur, I was a soldier. I got the mental implants (instant knowledge of all Earth's weapons, the instinctive reactions to all assaults, the unthinking ability to plan attacks), and I got an injection--a supercharge of the testosterone variant bogomophrine.

I was instantly a walking library of military knowledge! I still had to wait a couple of days while they scheduled me for the further injections, implants, enhancements, and titanium joint replacements, so they didn't issue the uniforms until I'd "filled out." In the meantime I took a li'l tour in my new--well, sorta new--Chevaaz.

I thought a quick zip up and around the moon might be a good cruise. I found out a few things, though. The old ellipsis/bjoergen drive didn't work for shit, and that meant I couldn't go faster than light. Damn. The body didn't look bad, a retro-styling of the ancient 20th Century Camaro in interplanetary mode--more streamlining for hyper-light speed (not that it would ever reach that speed in an atmosphere, but damn, it looked hot). But the finish was proton-polished almost down to bare plastic. In a couple of place I did see holes. Damn. The only thing keeping the air and pressure inside was the force-field.