PDA

Orijinalini görmek için tıklayınız : The Boss's Secretary

admin
14 Ocak 2023, 14:54
It was the mid-1980s and I was a hot-shot salesman working in Orange County, south of Los Angeles. I had moved from one territory to the next to the next, each time getting a bump in salary and getting an area with more volume in sales.The work was simple, sell wine displays to the managers of chain grocery stores (Safeway, Vons, Albertsons, etc), keep them up to date on upcoming ad specials so they had plenty of inventory, and supply them with point-of-sale marketing material. It was a step above the typical route sales to retail as the company was known as one of the best for sales training. It was common to get weekly unsolicited voicemails from a headhunter gauging our interest in new jobs.One week after our team meeting, my district manager pulled me aside and told me that our area manager wanted to talk to me in person that afternoon and I needed to be at the main office by 3:00 pm. When I asked what it was about Chuck said it was ?a unique opportunity.?I left our meeting and went about my day and arrived at the main office a few minutes early. Upon entering the office, the receptionist directed me to Mr. Denny?s office. I was a bit puzzled as I walked down the hall as Mr. Denny was the ?big cheese,? the VP of Sales for the entire company, not just the Los Angeles company-owned distributorship.Upon entering the outer office, I saw several other salesmen that I knew so I relaxed a bit. Charlene, Mr. Denny?s assistant, greeted me and told me to take a seat with the others and our meeting would start soon.As the other guys and I whispered, we all were trying to figure out what was going on, and why were we all called to the main office. Another guy said his manager said it was a transfer opportunity. Another said he heard we all were hand-picked for our sales skills.Charlene soon told us to follow her to the conference room where we found several upper management men and Mr.